RD Cooks: Kraut Berok

Kraut Berok is one of those family favorite that I grew up having at least once a month. No one I had ever known had heard of it before, I had never seen it on a menu anywhere, and I was convinced that this was a family secret until only a few years ago. I was trying to google around and see where this recipe came from and really learned a lot!

Apparently, Kraut Berok is a German meal that is actually a pastry stuffed with cabbage and meat. We never did it that way! We always made a nice cabbage and meat mixture, but topped it with drop biscuits and baked it. It is honestly one of my favorites and is so easy to customize it is insane. It is also one of the cheaper meals I make on a regular basis. I hope your family like it as much as mine! If you add it to your regular rotation, let me know!

Realistically Domestic’s Kraut Berok

  • 1.5 pounds of ground beef (your choice of selection)
  • 1 head of cabbage
  • 1 yellow onion
  • ~10 large button mushrooms
  • 5-6 shakes of Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 2 1/2 cups Biquick baking mix (or off-brand)
  • 3/4 cup Milk

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Begin browning by browning your beef in a large pot
  • Add Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper
  • Toss in the mushrooms and onions early in the browning process
  • Once cooked, toss in the cabbage
  • Lower heat to simmer, cover, cook until cabbage is soft
  • Pour entire mixture into a dutch over (or whatever you have for cooking in the oven)
  • Mix Bisquick and milk to create a messy dough
  • Spoon drop dough onto the top of the cabbage and meat mixture
  • Cook, covered, in oven for 20 minutes
  • Uncover and cook to brown the biscuits, approx. 5 more minutes
  • Dish up and enjoy!

Tips: My husband like to add hot sauce to this right before eating. If you want it to be a little less dry, I have successfully used cream of mushroom soup and/or sour cream. Feel free to mix in whatever you’d like. My mom never made it with mushrooms, but that was an addition I made a few years ago and loved it.

2 Comments on “RD Cooks: Kraut Berok”

  1. Julie says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with me! I’ve pinned it for future reference. 🙂

    Julie
    http://www.thisgalcooks.com


Have something to tell RD? Spill it here.

